the city chicken


Money and Food
07 19 2006, 5:04 am
Filed under: food

Today I made an executive decision. The money that has been saved up for a wedding, I would prefer to go to my education. I don’t know how much money mom and Ron had set aside for this future ceremony but I DO know where it can go right now. Between my existing undergrad loans, moving expenses, and grocery/toiletry set up costs, I will need a good chunk of change and right now I will barley be breaking even with my loan expenses! I can’t see keeping that money in lock down when there is no marriage in sight and that is the furthest thing from my mind at this time.

In other news, I picked up the newspaper today before heading out on a grocery shopping spree and came across an article about packing the perfect and easiest picnic. There was a recipe for coleslaw that actually sounded good! This is a big deal. I think coleslaw is disgusting… I am not a picky eater by any stretch of the imagination but I cannot even bring my nose close to the traditional version of that slop.
So this is what I put together tonight:

1 Bag (16 oz) coleslaw mix
1 can (8 oz) crushed pineapple (super well drained yields 8 oz)
1 can (8.25 oz) mandarin orange segments – drained
1/2 Cup Poppyseed Dressing
1/2 Cup Sour Cream

Mix slaw, pineapple, and oranges in a big bowl. In a seperate bowl, mix the dressing and sour cream together well. Pour over coleslaw, mix well. Serve chilled.

When I told mom about it, her only reaction was “I don’t like poppyseed dressing.” Since I hate coleslaw I figured either we would both get over it or Ron would be eating a LOT of coleslaw.
Needless to say, we all loved it and there isn’t any left!

Another recipe I came across sounds fabulous to me. I haven’t tried it yet, but it is DEFINATELY on my list of todo’s!
I found this in a cosmopolitan.

Cuban Mojito

In a shaker:
muddle 6 basil leaves, three lime wedges, 1 tsp. brown sugar, and juice from half a lime.
Add 6 oz. of light rum and ice and mix together. Pour into glass and add a splash of tonic.

I adore fresh basil and have full intentions to make fresh pesto sauce before I move (and perhaps some extras that I can take with me to Indy for a nice dinner for Brian and his roomate). The thought of fresh basil and lime in an alcoholic drink sounds so refreshing to me. I will be sure to keep you updated on that one.

Besides checking out new recipes, shopping, and talking $$, I have been packing today…. lots and lots of packing. I fully intend to be completely packed besides a few changes of clothes by the end of this week.
Time to watch House….2 full hours tonight!!! Woohoo.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

