the city chicken


oops! (and i’m officially in love)
04 14 2007, 8:46 pm
Filed under: ideas, random info, recommendations, vegetarian

Today in Target I found myself pacing back in forth in two areas of the grocery section that have recently captured my adoration: the wine aisle and the tea section.

 oopsy.jpgIn the wine section I began to search through the red wines, looking for something I haven’t yet tried. I was specifically looking for something described as either “voluptuous” or “supple.” And sure enough, I came across a wine by the name of Oops!; ablend of Cabernet Franc and Carmenere. Oops! also makes a Merlot-Carmenere blend and a white Carmenere. I picked up the Cab-Carmenere blend and opened it just about a 1/2 hour ago and I am totally smitten.

“Voluptuous” and “full-bodied” certainly come to mind, but so does “gentle”. Some reds seem so heavy and chewy to me. Oops! just floats down your throat without catching and leaving a strong after-taste. While other reds are good with heavy meat dishes, they often seem inappropriate to drink alone or to have with a vegetarian meal or appetizer. This wine is perfect for those situations and would make a lovely compliment when you were hoping for a red but nothing else seemed appropriate.

And, the bottle was on sale for a measly $9.99… I will be picking up Oops! other blends the next time I am in Target!

Tea has come to my attention via my favorite podcast: Vegetarian Food for Thought. If you haven’t yet listened to an episode, I highly suggest it. Even if you are certainyou will never become a vegetarian/vegan, take a listen to one of Colleen’s earlier episodes. I find her voice and her message very calming and peaceful. She brings a real sense of compassion and honesty to her podcast without making you feel bad for what you aren’t doing. And she has given me some fabulous ideas for ways to make small, easy, changes to my diet that can make a real difference in the world, one meal at a time!

Anyhow, back to the tea. Colleen often references her love of tea in her podcast and it encouraged me to pick up a box last time I was in Target.

I bought a box of TAZO tea in the Wild Sweet Orange variety. First of all, I was very impressed with the fact that the color of the tea was actually orange. I know this is frivolous, but it certainly made me happy to see the cheery color fill my mug. After such a pleasant experience with the orange tea, I grabbed another box at Kroger the other night of the black Tazo Chai tea. I have never had a black tea before and I enjoyed this just as much as the orange variety. It was full of wonderful spices and the intense scent of cloves filled the entire house.

As much as I would be thrilled to know I encouraged someone to try a new wine or tea or a new vegetarian dish, there is a bigger point to this post – there are some very simple and lovely pleasures in life that we often overlook in our daily hustle and bustle. I have recently found some “quiet” joy in wine and tea; “quiet” because it is a feeling I experience all by myself and something I can secretly take part in that makes my day seem just a bit more peaceful and complimentary. I encourage you all to find something that you can personally take pleasure in that makes your day seem just a big brighter.

Enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

