the city chicken


need some identification help
08 4 2007, 12:09 pm
Filed under: vintage

I need some help from all of you antique and vintage lovers out there. I own a lucite wall light fixture. It is in art deco style and the main portion which is affixed to the wall is clear. There is a decorative piece attached in red lucite. At the very top is your “light bulb attachment piece” complete with pull string. The plug cord fits through a series of notches and holes throughout the decorative portion of the fixture. I have no clue what kind of bulb would look quite “right” in this.. it doesn’t appear that there would have been a shade.

The original tag is affixed to it and on the front states that it is “Genuine Plexiglass” (I am calling it lucite for search purposes!), on the back of the tag there is some info on the durability/usefulness of plexiglass as opposed to glass and there is also a company name – Art Plastics Novelty Company, Cleveland, Ohio. I have looked up that name and can find nothing.

The reason I really want to identify this is (A) I really like it and would just like to know more about the piece and (B) I own a matching test tube vase and if there are more matching pieces, I would certainly be interested.

Feel free to send me any info you may have!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

