the city chicken


mouth amuser
08 9 2007, 2:17 pm
Filed under: food, outings

Last night Brian and I went to the Capital Grille in Indianapolis. The Capital Grille is well known for it’s fine dining and luxurious menu items and last night the restaurant lived up to its reputation.

The first excitement of the evening came in the form of an amuse bouche of a smoked salmon mouse on top of thin cracker, topped with fresh herbs. Although I knew what an amuse bouche was and what it was supposed to represent, I didn’t know how to spell it and today looking it up I learned that it literally is translated to “mouth amuser”. Well this certainly amused my mouth. It was everything an amuse bouche should be – an artful showcase of what is to come.

For an appetizer we were served steak tartare. Brian and I were both wanting to try it but both apprehensive at the idea of the raw egg; fortunately for us there was no raw egg. The tartare consisted of a strong layer of capers, hardboiled egg, and the main layer of filet. We were both stunned at how much we were served for the price. Some of the appetizers can be as costly as an entre but ours was reasonably priced and absolutely wonderful.

For dinner I had a porcini rubbed delmonico steak with an 8 year aged balsamic vinegar. What more is there to say!? Today I couldn’t bear to nuke the left-overs – I ate the rest cold and I would have just as happily have eaten it raw!

Brian had a filet with cippolini mushrooms and onions. It was fantastic as well. We both ordered our steaks medium well and they were done to perfection.

I don’t mean to go on and on about food…. but it truly is an art form to get some of these things just right and whoever was in the back of the house last night was an artist!!

We ended our night with chocolate espresso cake and left very happy. Yes, it was a pricey meal but I think we both agreed it was well worth it. Hopefully I picked something up while I was there because I will probably be cooking some meals while Brian recoups from the bill lol. 🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

