the city chicken


a traditional polish Christmas?
12 21 2007, 9:50 pm
Filed under: food, fun stuff, holidays

Every family has holiday traditions. You might hate them or love them, but you have them nonetheless. My mother’s family gets together every year. This might not sound like a big deal. It is when you have 15 children.

Yes, my mom was #12 of 15 kids. By this time, they have to rent a hall to accommodate all of the children, their children, and now their children’s children as well + all of the significant others and random friends and buddies that pop in. I can honestly say, no, I don’t know the names of all of my first cousins and I really can’t tell you much about my second cousins but I am proud of the fact that I can pretty much look at any of them and place them as being a descendant of one of my Aunt’s and or Uncles.

My father’s family is Polish. You would think this would mean I had a lot of traditional polish foods at Christmas but I don’t recall eating any more polish food during the holidays than we did at any other time of the year. I get the feeling though that I wrongly assume some foods are American in origin when in reality they are Polish or are a Polish take on a traditional American meal.

Anyhow, I came across this little version of the 12 Days of Christmas a couple years ago and I adore it. I am sharing it with you now and I’m sure if you spend any time with me, you’ll hear me talk about some of these dishes at least once.

The 8 Polish Days of Christmas 

The first Polish Christmas dish I bring to the party, A boiled potato topped with dill weed.

The second Polish Christmas dish I bring to the party, Two steamed pierogies:

What’s a pierogy? It’s dough, wrapped around meat And a boiled potato topped with dill weed.

The third Polish Christmas dish I bring to the party Three simmered gwumpkies:

 What’s a gwupmky? It’s cabbage, wrapped around meat. Two steamed pierogies And a boiled potato topped with dill weed.

The fourth Polish Christmas dish I bring to the party, Four baked paprikas:

 What’s a paprika? It’s a bell pepper, stuffed with meat. Three simmered gwumpkies Two steamed pierogies And a boiled potato topped with dill weed.

The fifth Polish Christmas dish I bring to the party, Five smoked kielbasas:

 What’s a kielbasa? It’s pretty much just meat.Four baked paprikas Three simmered gwumpkies Two steamed pierogies And a boiled potato topped with dill weed.

The sixth Polish Christmas dish I bring to the party, Six fried chruschikis:

 Let me guess, something from the meat family? Actually, it a delightful pastry with a thin, flaky crust! Ooh, mmmm! Five smoked kielbasas Four baked paprikas Three simmered gwumpkies Two steamed pierogies And a boiled potato topped with dill weed.

The seventh Polish Christmas dish I bring to the party, Seven pitted prunes But I don’t like prunes! Trust me. With this food, you’ll need ’em, son. Six fried chruschikis Five smoked kielbasas Four baked paprikas Three simmered gwumpkies Two steamed pierogies And a boiled potato topped with dill weed.

The eight Polish Christmas dish I bring to the party, Eight poppy seed cakes Poppies! Poppies! Oh, I’m so sleepy! There’s no place like home!Seven pitted prunes Six fried chruschikis Five smoked kielbasas Four baked paprikas Three simmered gwumpkies Two steamed pierogies And a boiled potato topped with dill weed.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love that song! I first heard it on the Veggie Tales Christmas CD that my kids were listening to. I think it’s really cute.

Comment by Julia

hehe…i just found this song on youtube today…i think it’s funny so I put it on myspace. I do have one small concern…I hope this party is not on Christmas Eve – Wigillia/Wigilja is meatless!!

Comment by Jenn




Leave a Reply

