the city chicken


wrecked, but kinda optomistic
01 14 2008, 7:07 pm
Filed under: daily grind

Today was the first day of the second half of my law school career.

I am totally pooped.

First thing in the morning was Federal Jurisdiction with my old property professor. I like her a lot. I don’t like her teaching methods all that much. It isn’t that she does anything “wrong”… she just goes into such intense detail that sometimes you just want to maul your own face off… on top of that, Federal Jurisdiction deals almost exclusively with constitutional law and interpretation – dense shit anyhow. Put her in the mix and it becomes as thick as pecan pie.

40 minutes after Fed. Jur. finished up, I was in Juvenile law, a subset of “family law” focusing on children and their relationship to the legal process. Interesting topic for sure but a topic which requires a lot of intense and sometimes frustrating thoughts – ie, is a fetus a “child” or a “person” according to the constitution?

And juvenile law had no more than just finished up and I was running upstairs to get to Criminal procedure in time.

If you have been paying attention, you might be wondering why I have crim pro again… didn’t I have that last semester?

Yes, I did. Last semester crim pro focused on adjudication (ie, from bail to jail). This section of crim pro focuses on the investigative process of criminal procedure (ie, police and their interactions with ordinary citizens). Our professor calls this the most important area of constitutional law – the right to be left the hell alone!

Each of the above classes was an hour and a half long and in my undergrad, three classes in a day would kinda suck. Three classes in a day in law school is really overwhelming. Especially those three classes!

Tomorrow I have my writing class at 8:30am and then Animal Law after that. I expect Animal law to be fun and interesting BUT it also appears that our prof is going to nail us with quite a few major assignments throughout the semester… maybe that will be in lieu of a nasty exam at the end though.

I’ll be done early tomorrow but I’ll have to head home and study up right away and then head back to school later in the evening for the Client Counseling Competition. I met with my partner today and she seems like the perfect partner. She is an older student, on law review, and very well composed and intelligent.

I didn’t sleep well last night so I am praying I sleep well tonight and can get myself up and out early, bright eyed and bushy tailed.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

