the city chicken


Brian’s Birthday and some fondant
03 16 2008, 6:07 am
Filed under: birthday, food, fun stuff, recipes

Brian’s birthday was yesterday and I decided to give him a bit of a themed birthday. Nintendo themed! lol. It was a lot of fun. I made him a card and a “1 up” cake. I thought the “1 up” idea was great for a birthday – if you don’t know anything about Super Mario Brothers, when you get a “1 up” you get an extra life.

This cake took a bit of research – I’ve never made or used fondant before but it was fun learning how to work with it and I will definitely do it again. I used a marshmallow fondant recipe from this website. The cake was a yellow cake with a layer of cherry preserves in between. Chocolate buttercream frosting covered the whole cake and then the fondant. Here are pictures 🙂

A form for cutting the cakes.

Photobucket

The cut cake halves.

Photobucket

Layered and frosted.

Photobucket

The final product. (The eyes are Raisinets).

Photobucket

Brian liked his cake and it tasted pretty good too! The fondant was super sweet but I expected that. We had cake with Brian’s father and his father’s girlfriend after we all had gone out to dinner downtown. Brian and I came back to my place and watched TV for a bit… well, he napped lol. He had to work at 6am this morning. It was a nice day.

I can’t wait for the next birthday now so I can play with another cake!! haha.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The cake was great!!!!! One of the best gifts ever!!!

Comment by The Boyfriend

🙂 I’m so happy you liked it – the only way I think I could have improved upon it was to make it really give you an extra life lol.

I’ll be sure to work on that for future b-days 😉

Comment by city chick

I would rather get one of those Fireball Flowers!!!!

Comment by The Boyfriend

lol, imagine how nice your employers would be to you if you had one of those!!!

Comment by city chick

Way Cool!!!!

Comment by Sarah




Leave a Reply

