the city chicken


Crappy start to the school year.
09 2 2008, 8:42 am
Filed under: sick

So I have a head cold. Well, either that or I have, symptomatically, the worst case of fall allergies known to man. I am aware that the ragweed is causing some serious issues lately around here but I’ve had allergies my whole life and I have never experienced anything like this. Yesterday I picked up some antihistamines and I felt alright throughout the afternoon making me think that maybe it was the ragweed. As night sat in however, a full blown congestion nightmare came on – even my ears are congested – I can barely hear and my balance is all screwed up. I read the instructions on the medication this morning which said not to take more than 1 tablet in a 24 hour period. I had taken 6 already in the last 18 hours!!!

This morning as I drove to school I realized that the antihistamines weren’t going to cut it. I stopped at a gas station and found a package of generic combined cold and allergy meds. So far my brain feels like it is sliding around in my head. I’m playing a waiting game now hoping that the meds work but at the same time hoping they don’t work too well and knock me on my ass. Yes, I’m complaining but I’m convinced that everyone deserves to complain a little when they are miserable.

Yesterday was pretty good besides having this cold/allergy/whatever break. Brian and I went to his aunt and uncle’s house to enjoy what may be one of the last pool parties of the year. They recently acquired a new shih tzu puppy so we played with her, enjoyed the pool, and just relaxed. I managed to get some laundry done at Brian’s and then I slept – a lot! We napped away a good portion of the afternoon and I still ended up going to bed before 10.

Well, I am going to attempt to get some reading done before class and hopefully this day will just hurry up and get over with!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

