the city chicken


Hemp and other ideas.
11 24 2008, 1:50 pm
Filed under: vegan

So I tried the hempmilk over my tasty Raspberry Ginger cereal the other day.

First of all, I have to say that because I am very sensitive to dairy products, I have a mental expectation that anything called “milk” will make me gag. Although I am well aware that this shouldn’t apply to a non-dairy milk, I still find myself nerved out about trying anything by the same name. With that said, the hempmilk is not going to be at the top of my list for cereal milks. It has a definite taste, color, and texture. And it was the texture that caused me momentary “meh-ness”. It is kind of, slippery and it stays on your tongue/spoon etc. The taste was very earthy and so I am guessing it would be best for cooking with. I’m not opposed to using it in the future, especially once I have tried cooking with it, but for now I will stick to Almond Milks for cereal duty.

 

Note that I also used the original, unsweetened version so perhaps the vanilla Hempmilk would be more to my liking.

My parents are coming for Thanksgiving and they are trying to diet so I figure now might be a good time to attempt some vegan recipes. I would be able to cook for more than one or two people which always makes experimenting with a recipe easier in my opinion. I am thinking of trying out a butternut squash soup and then maybe getting into a more interesting pasta dish over the weekend. We shall see.

Oh, and in other news, today is my final day at my internship. I made that decision based on the fact that I need to get studying for finals and the weather has taken a turn for the worst – I have no desire to continue walking from my car to the building if I can avoid it!

That is all for now – ciao!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

